Storytime: Berries

Opening Song: Hello, Friends

Hello, friends x3
It’s time to say hello

from Jbrary

Rhyme: Five Ripe Berries Sitting in a Bowl

Five ripe berries sitting in a bowl
The (strawberry etc) fell out and started to roll
It bumped the table and hit my toe
How many berries in the bowl?
1…2…3…4

Continue until there are no berries left in the bowl

from Storybook Stephanie

This could definitely be done as a flannelboard, but I’m a big fan of not doing that. For this one, I used five soft balls in different colors in a bowl. When a berry fell out of the bowl, I took it from the bowl and rolled it to one of the kids at storytime. At the end of the song, they rolled them back to me to put in the bowl. I had the perfect number of kids to make this work, but if you have a ton of kids, it’s probably easier to do the flannelboard.

Song: Pop! Goes the Berry

All around the strawberry field
I picked some juicy berries
Brought them home and washed them off
Pop! Goes the berry

from Jbrary

Book: Jamberry by Bruce Degen

Cover of Jamberry by Bruce Degen

Movement Activity: Movement Words: Write words on construction paper. Show and say each word to the group then perform that word. Get creative and use words like jiggle, collapse, or swing. This activity is from The Joy of Movement by Mary Lynn Hafner.

Song: Picked a Berry

Picked a strawberry, picked a strawberry
That was growing in the sun.
Then I washed it, and I ate it,
And I picked another one.

Verses: blueberry, blackberry, raspberry

from Lady Librarian’s Literacy, Lifestyle, and Lookbook Log

Rhyme: Pick Berries High

Pick berries high, pick berries low
Pick berries on the bush, nine in a row
Some like them red, some like them blue
Here’s one for me- yum!
And here’s one for you

from Madison Library District

Activity: Paint with Berries

Leave a comment