Storytime: Sunshine

Opening Song: Hello, Friends

Hello, friends x3
It’s time to say hello

from Jbrary

Rhyme: You Are My Sunshine

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy, when skies are gray
You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away

as rememberd from childhood

Song: Little Sun

Little sun, sun, little golden sun
Please shine down on me
Oh, little sun, sun, little golden sun
Hiding behind a tree
These little children are asking you,
To please come out so we can play with you
Oh, little sun, sun, little golden sun
Please shine down on me!

adapted by me from Mr. Sun

Book: If I Was the Sunshine by Julie Fogliano

Cover of If I Was the Sunshine by Julie Fogliano, illustrated by Loren Long

Movement Activity: Bag of Objects: Take a large, dark bag and fill it with a variety of items that have movement potential. Pull out one item at a time. Ask the children to try to move like the item. For example,  you pull out a feather, so the associated movement is to float down and lie on the floor, or you pull out a spinning top so you spin around and around. This is an activity from The Joy of Movement by Mary Lynn Hafner.

Song: May There Always Be Sunshine by Jim Gill

Play the song and use shaker eggs.

Rhyme: Tuning Up for Outer Space

The sun is in in the sky
The sun is in the sky
Hot and bright, it gives us light
The sun is in the sky

from Montessori in Real Life

Activity: Handprint Paper Plate Sun

Leave a comment