Storytime: Kindness

I’m trying a new flow for my program, so you’ll notice this plan is pretty different from my past ones! We are also back in summer reading, so I am once again trying to align my themes with CSLP’s theme, which this year is “All Together Now.”

Opening Song: Hello, Friends

Hello, friends x3
It’s time to say hello

from Jbrary

Book: Tomorrow I’ll Be Kind by Jessica Hische

Cover of Tomorrow I'll Be Kind by Jessica Hische

Song: Let’s Be Kind

Let’s be kind, let’s be kind.
In our heart and in our mind.
To our family, to our friends.
Let’s be kind, let’s be kind.

from Storybook Stephanie

Instrument Song: Kindness by The Juicebox Jukebox

Play the song and have the kids play an instrument while you listen and jam out! I used rhythm sticks this time.

Dance Song: Spin Again by Jim Gill

Dance along to the song!

Movement Activity: Island Hopping: Place hoops/rugs on the floor, explain that each space is an island. “When the music plays, you fly over the water by flapping your wings. When it stops, it’s time to land on an island and rest.” Let the kids know they can share islands when it’s time to rest, all are welcome, even if they can only put one foot on it. Then play the music! This activity is from The Joy of Movement by Mary Lynn Hafner. The song I choose this time was Trees Dance by Pasha Aeon.

Affirmation Song: I Love My Body

I love my body from my head to my toes
I love my face–my eyes, my mouth, my nose
I love the way I look when I look in the mirror
I stand a little closer just to see a little clearer

Who is that? It’s me!
And I am looking good as good can be
So what do I say?
I tell myself I love me every day.

I love my body from my head to my toes.
I love my face–my eyes, my mouth, my nose
I love the way I look when I look in the mirror.
I stand a little closer, just to see a little clearer.

I hope you can too.
You’re worthy of your own love, it is true.
So what do we say?
We tell ourselves we love us every day.

from Mother Moon

Coloring Page: Kindness Matters

Special Toy: Lacing Cards

Leave a comment