Storytime: Pie

Opening Song: Hello, Friends

Hello, friends x3
It’s time to say hello

from Jbrary

Book: All for Pie, Pie for All by David Martin, illustrated by Valeri Gorbachev

Cover of All for Pie Pie for All by David Martin, illustrated by Valeri Gorbachev

Song: We Make a Pie

Push, pull, pound the dough
Homemade pie we make
Roll it, punch it, squeeze it, fill it
In the pan it bakes

from Jen in the Library

Instrument Song: Shoo Fly Pie and Apple Pan Dowdy by Dinah Shore

For this song, we used jingle bells as our instrument.

Dance Song: List of Dances by Jim Gill

Movement Activity: Sit in a V sit. Tell the class you’re hungry and you’re going to make a PB&J sandwich. Ask leading questions like “what do we need?” Pretend to grab the supplies from behind you (torso twist) and have the class mimic you. Use the “table” space between your legs to prepare the sandwich. When it’s time to cut the sandwich, make big diagonal motions so the children will get a great inner leg stretch. End with “let’s eat it” and eat your sandwich with gusto. This activity is from The Joy of Movement by Mary Lynn Hafner.

Affirmation Song: My Silly Body

I like my silly body, I like my sniffy nose
I like my wiggly fingers, I like my tappy toes
I like my stomach when it’s full, and I like the thoughts I think
I like my body very much, it takes good care of me

I like the heart inside my chest, and the love it has to give
I make the planet better with each moment that I live
So I’ll use my hands gently, and my words to be kindCause each day’s a new adventure, who knows what I might find?

I love my silly body, I love my silly brain
And if I think I don’t, then I’ll just sing this song again

from Emily Anne

Coloring Page: Pie Coloring Page

Special Toy: Pie Sensory Bin (inspired by the sensory table from Pocket of Preschool)

Leave a comment