Storytime: Fairy Tales

Opening Song: Hello, Friends

Hello, friends x3
It’s time to say hello

from Jbrary

Rhyme: Five Knights in Shining Armor

Five knights in shining armor, fearless and brave,
Went dragon hunting deep in a cave
The dragon started breathing fire,
The knights’ knees were all aquiver,
So one little knight went off to the river!

Count down.

from Storytime Katie

The last time I did this song I added a “splash!” at the end of each verse. I did that again this time, and it still seems to be the favorite part of the song, especially if you add a little jump and act like you’re splashing into the water.

Song: Castle Capers

I am the king of running
I run and run and run
My subjects all run with me
And we have so much fun

I am the prince of turning
I turn and turn and turn
My subjects all turn with me
It’s an easy thing to learn

I am princess of dancing
I dance and dance and dance
My subjects all dance with me
Whenever we have the chance

I am the queen of jumping
I jump and jump and jump
My subjects all jump with me
And sit down with a bump

from CSLP Early Literacy Manual 2020

Book: Twinderella by Corey Rosen Schwartz

Movement Activity: Jack Be Nimble Candle Jump: Have the children take turns jumping over a “candlestick.” I used a small plastic, battery-powered tealight candle as my “candlestick.” You can do what you want though for this–a candlestick cut out of paper that’s laying down, a real candlestick, one of those plastic battery-powered candlestick. Do whatever you have the resources for! I just happened to have a bunch of those tealight candles leftover from a lantern project a couple years ago.

Song: All Through the Land

The wings of the dragon go up and down, up and down, up and down
The wings of the dragon go up and down, all through the land

The princess in the tower turns around, turns around, turns around
The princess in the tower turns around, all through the land

The golden unicorn gallops away, gallops away, gallops away
The golden unicorn gallops away, all through the land

The people in the kingdom jump and shout, jump and shout, jump and shout
The people in the kingdom jump and shout, all through the land

from CSLP Early Literacy Manual 2020

Rhyme: Crown’s Everywhere

I’ve got a crown on my head, on my head.
I’ve got a crown on my head, on my head.
Did you hear what I said?  I’ve got a crown on my head!
I’ve got a crown on my head, on my head.

Other verses:
…on my arm…it’s not doing any harm…
…on my knee…oh goodness gracious me…
…on my foot…it just can’t stay put…

from Falling Flannelboards

I cut “crowns” out of paper plates and that’s what we used for this rhyme.

Activity: Those paper plate “crowns” are also what we used for our activity. After we finished our last song, they got to take the crown they used to the table with them, where I gave them some markers and stickers they got to use to decorate their crown!

Leave a comment