Little Scientists: Apples

I’ve noticed recently that nobody actually interacts with the books if they aren’t part of a specific station, so I’m no longer centering a book for all four stations, but I may continue to include one in a single station where appropriate.

Center 1: Apple Taste Test

Cut up red, yellow, and green apples into very small chunks. Provide a worksheet where they can indicate which flavor apple they liked best. This idea came from Pocket of Preschool.

Center 2: Count and Graph Coloring Page

I’ve talked before about this bundle of Count & Graph worksheets I got on Teachers Pay Teachers, which included an apple one. That is the worksheet that was used for this station, where participants count the number of a specific shape that appears in the picture, color those shapes according to the key, and then use that same color to indicate how many there are in the graph at the bottom of the worksheet.

EDIT: When I re-did this program later, I created by own Count & Graph worksheet inspired by the one I had previously gotten from Teachers Pay Teachers!

Center 3: Apple Sensory Bin

This is another one from Pocket of Preschool. In a bin, put red pompoms (apples) with a sensory base. Pocket of Preschool used oats, but I avoided that because of my own allergies. I instead used rice as a base, but pebbles or beads might work well too. Include baking supplies (measuring cups, spoons, whisks, mini pie tins, small bowls) to explore the bin with.

Center 4: Apple Picking

I also used this activity for my Fruit themed Little Scientists, and the idea once again came from Pocket of Preschool, I believe. I made a tree out of construction paper, which I secure to the wall. The green of the tree has velcro dots on it, which I stick red, yellow, and green pompoms too. I then provide a basket and a stool so that kids can “climb the ladder” to pick the apples and put them in their basket. I ask that they return the apples to the tree as well so that the next person can play as well.

EDIT: I recently moved another table to my space where I do this program, so I now can do five centers. With that addition, I’ve added this fifth center to this program.

Center 5: Apple Sorting

This activity was inspired by a Pinterest pin from Turner Tots, though I couldn’t actually find the activity on their website. I placed red, yellow, and green balls in a single bin, and then three bins labeled with colored dots for them to be sorted into. I then provided rubber-capped salad tongs for the children to use to pick up the balls and move them into the correct bin.

You can get the resources I created for this program for free on my Teachers Pay Teachers account!

Leave a comment