Storytime: Zoo (2)

Opening Song: Hello, Friends

Hello, friends x3
It’s time to say hello

from Jbrary

Word of the Day: Zoo

To say “zoo” in ASL, you just fingerspell it. So begin by making the letter “z,” which you do by drawing a “z” in the air in front of your face with your pointer finger. Then make an “o,” which is done by making an “o” shape with your right hand. For the second “o,” just drag your hand a little to the right, since you read left-to-right. You can see this sign in action here.

Rhyme: Five Little Monkeys

Five little monkeys, swinging in a tree
Teasing Mr. Alligator, “Can’t catch me!” 
Along comes Mr. Alligator, quiet as can be and
SNAPS that monkey out of the tree!

Repeat with four, three, etc.

As remembered from my childhood

Song: The Zoo

Oh, if I were a tiny snake,
A tiny snake, a tiny sake,
Oh if I were a tiny snake,
I’d slither around the zoo

Oh if I were an elephant
An elephant, an elephant
Oh if I were an elephant
I’d march around the zoo

Oh if I were a kangaroo
A kangaroo, a kangaroo
Oh if I were a kangaroo
I’d hop around the zoo

Found in my predecessor’s files; original source unknown

Book: My Heart is Like a Zoo by Michael Hall

Cover of My Heart is Like a Zoo by Michael Hall

Movement Activity: Open and close legs in long sit. This is a warm-up that Mary Lynn Hafner suggests in her book The Joy of Movement.

Song: I Went to Visit the Zoo One Day

I went to visit the zoo one day
Saw an elephant along the way!
And what do you think I heard him say?
[elephant noise]  

Repeat with various animals

from Abby the Librarian

Rhyme: Alice the Camel

Alice the Camel has 5 humps
Alice the Camel has 5 humps|
Alice the Camel has 5 humps
So go, Alice, go!

Alice the camel has 4 humps…

Alice the camel has 3 humps…

Alice the camel has 2 humps…

Alice the camel has 1 hump…

Alice the camel has no humps…
Because Alice is a horse!

from Literacious

Book: A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip Stead

Cover of A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Activity: Paper Plate Peacock — the kids decorate their peacock’s feathers however they want and then glue peacock body onto it

Notes on Distribution: This storytime was done as a Bitmoji classroom that was posted to my library’s Facebook page.

Leave a comment